Set up and run voluntarily by members of East Kent’s ex-miners’ community, Aylesham Heritage Centre stores and archives the history of the Kent coalfield. The village of Aylesham was built in the 1920s to accommodate workers of the nearby Snowdown colliery, one of the four main collieries (alongside Tilmanstone, Betteshanger and Chislet) to be established in East Kent following the discovery of coal during early borings for the Channel Tunnel in the late 19th century.
The centre holds a growing collection of photographs, mining artefacts, books, recordings and films particularly related to Snowdown colliery and the associated Aylesham community, as well as an archive of local newspaper clippings dating back to 1904. Unique memories and conversations can also be found at AHC in the form of the miners themselves.
Elvington and Eythorne Heritage Centre has subsequently been set up in the village of Elvington to record and display the history of Tilmanstone colliery, and further collections dedicated to Betteshanger and Chislet collieries are also being gathered and preserved by members of the mining community.
Further information can be found at: http://www.movetheminer.org